Just Add Ether

24 Oct

ImageEvery “mistake” I’ve ever made in chemistry has, in some way or another, involved the separatory funnel.  Quite possibly the easiest task one should encounter in organic chemistry!  Want me to read the complex splitting on your NMR?  No problem!  Synthesize something that literature says “can’t be done”?  Been there, done that.  Use a separatory funnel without fucking something up?  Not going to happen.

At least the solution to most of my mistakes is to just add ether. 

A little about me –

  • I’m a first year graduate student working towards my PhD in chemistry.
  • I’m a married gal.
  • I’m an older than normal entering grad student.  
  • I’m still trying to pick an advisor but I do have my eye on one.  
  • Forty-six students count on me to referee their lab each week (and I hate it!)
  • I have a giant chick hard-on for all things organic.  

Leave a comment