Survivor – Advisor Search

26 Oct

ImageAs I mentioned in my previous post, I’m still on the hunt for a research advisor.  I have my eye on one but he (Dr. X) is very sought after.  Although I think my chances are good, I’m nervous!!  

Dr. X wasn’t originally on my radar.  He isn’t listed on the faculty websites and he was out of town when I did my campus visit.  The first years have a seminar every week where each advisor talks about their research, what they are looking for and what you can expect from them.  The talks are always pretty mundane, most advisors don’t like doing it and just show some old slide show from a few years past.  

Dr. X came in and put on a show.  He had an amazing publication go out at the end of August that is generating a lot of talk (and money!)  I decided to make an appointment with him for the following week – not even to talk about the group, more just to make acquaintance with a possible, future Nobel laureate!  Dr. X is not an organic chemist so I didn’t plan to fall into advisor love, but I did. His group does a wide variety of chemistry and he is currently looking for an organic student to work with his organic postdoc.  That’s where I come in… hopefully!  He has had 10 students show interest (out of the 12 first years!)

Here is where you come in… The day after my meeting, he spoke with another organic student.  Dr. X told her she would be better off with one of the straight organic groups and he had no need/want for organic in his group.  I suppose I’m taking this as a good sign?  But this is also the reason I’m so secretive, for now.  

I’ll leave you with a follow up email from Dr. X.  Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated!  I’m glad that you are interested in my group.

“…Don’t worry, based on our short meeting, you already stand out amongst your peers. As the semester winds down, please let me know that you still have an interest and I will place you near or at the top of my selections.”

Leave a comment